The East Lansing Film Festival (ELFF), the largest and second oldest film festival in Michigan, screens independent and foreign feature, documentary, short and students films from around the world.

An important aspect of the film festival is the Lake Michigan Film Competition that awards films made in the states that surround Lake Michigan – Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana and Michigan.The ELFF was created in 1997 in cooperation with the City of East Lansing and Michigan State University. Since then, ELFF has been dedicated to bringing quality foreign and independent films to the state of Michigan in order to expose our audience to diverse cultures, ideas, and creative works.



Submit Your Film

The 2015 Call for Entries Opens March 1ST.

submit_btn-text or Download the ELFF Submission Form (“Withoutabox logos are trademarks of Withoutabox, a DBA of Inc. or its affiliates.”)

You can submit through or by clicking on the Withoutabox logo or filmfreeway logo. You can also submit by filling out the submission forms provided here. East Lansing Film Festival prefers online entries submitted via or, which provides cost-saving, paperless submission to film festivals around the world. Withoutabox’s and filmfreeway’s internet-only submission platforms features online applications via one master entry form, online fee payments, press kits, and the option to use Secure Online Screeners, an economical, eco-friendly, and secure alternative to traditional hard-copy DVD submissions. Fill out one master entry form and take advantage of quick entry, extended deadlines, and powerful submission management tools. There’s no extra cost to you, and by submitting, you’ll join Withoutabox’s and filmfreeway’s global filmmaker community and stay in the loop about international exhibition opportunities. Click to submit your film today!